United in Song

A few weeks ago, I performed in ‘United in Song’ by Blackpool and Fylde Light Opera Company. The show was a collection of ensemble numbers and solo’s from various well known musicals set/from America and Britain.

I was asked to take part by my old friend and mentor, Dave Thomas who is someone who I greatly respect not just as a friend but as a musician. He is a fantastic pianist and I thoroughly enjoyed working with him and the company on this project.

The performances went very well after a short and slightly stressful rehearsal period before hand. Oklahoma, Jersey Boys, Oliver and Jekyll and Hyde were just some or the musicals features in this show. I sang a solo of ‘Try to Remember’ from ‘The Fantasticks’. The song is quite well known with the melody but the lyrics are less heard. I enjoyed working on the song as although it is simple, to express the meaning of the song is much more difficult as parts of the song as very exposed but I enjoyed the challenge of it all.

I hope that next summer I will be able to perform in a similar concert and I hope to be able to work with Dave again.

Best wishes
Tim

Leave a Reply

